MIRO CRAEMER

Miro Craemer was born in Franconia, Bavaria in 1969. After studying theater, psycholinguistics, and literature at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in Munich, he worked for over 15 years as a designer and art director in the field of prêt-à-porter fashion for traditional companies.

Since 2007 Miro Craemer has been working as an independent artist and designer in the fields of textiles, installation art, contemporary dance, performance, and art education. The communication and expression of social interaction through interweaving and connection have been constant motifs in Craemer's work. 

Miro Craemer_Foto Thomas Weinberger.jpg

 

Inspired by Joseph Beuys' concept of "Social Sculpture", Miro Craemer explores the participationof people from the most diverse backgrounds in the social discourse through and with art.

 

His often interdisciplinary and intercultural work is concerned with encouragement and empowerment through creative potential. In Craemer's works, textile as a globe-spanning language becomes a tool for communication that not only can address social inequalities, opportunities, and hopes, but can also shape and change such situations.

Craemer has transformed art into an integrative, democratic, and mediating element of society through several initiatives, including his intercultural and interdisciplinary project "Togetthere_WalkingACT" for the Kunstareal-Fest Munich in 2015; the multi-month integration project "Togetthere_fACTory" in 2016; and, at the Pinakothek der Moderne in Munich, "Togetthere_Xperience" in 2017 and 2018, and "Denkraum Deutschland" in 2019 and 2020. In 2020 he launched the magazine MAG - Museum und Gesellschaftlicher Wandel to continue this vision of low-threshold access to art and culture in exchange with experts and visitors alike.

Miro Craemer has been part of numerous national and international solo and group exhibitions, including the Karachi Biennale in 2017; the Lahore Biennale in 2018; Vienna Art Week in 2017; Kunstareal-Fest Munich in 2015, 2017, and 2019; the Augsburg Textile and Industry Museum in 2017 and 2020; and "Personal Structures" at Palazzo Bembo for the 58th Venice Biennale.

Since 2020, he has headed the art space "mim – Space for Culture" in the Glockenbachviertel neighborhood in Munich with a program located at the interface of art and design.

MIRO CRAEMER

Miro Craemer wurde 1969 in Franken / Bayern geboren und studierte Theaterwissenschaft, Psycholinguistik u#nd Literatur an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München, bevor er über 15 Jahre als Designer und Art Director im Bereich Pret-á-porter-Mode für traditionelle Unternehmen arbeitete.

Seit 2007 ist Miro Craemer als selbständiger Künstler und Designer im Bereich Textil, Installation, Zeitgenössischer Tanz, Performance und Kunstvermittlung tätig.Verwebungen und Verbindungen als Form von Kommunikation und Ausdruck gesellschaftlicher Interaktion finden sich als durchgehendes Motiv der Arbeiten von Craemer. Inspiriert durch Joseph Beuys´ Kunstbegriff der „Sozialen Plastik“ erforscht Miro Craemer in seiner Kunst die Teilhabe

Miro Craemer_Foto Thomas Weinberger.jpg

von Menschen unterschiedlichster Voraussetzungen am gesellschaftlichen Diskurs durch und mit Kunst.

 In seinen oftmals interdisziplinären und interkulturellen Arbeiten geht es ihm um die Ermutigung und Ermächtigung durch das Potenzial der Kreativität. Das Textile als eine den Globus umspannende Sprache bekommt in Craemers Arbeiten die Funktion eines Kommunikationsmediums, welches von gesellschaftlichen Ungleichheiten, Chancen und Hoffnungen zu erzählen weiß, diese Situationen aber auch gestalten und verändern kann.

Mit seinem interkulturellen und interdisziplinären Projekt „Togetthere_WalkingACT“ 2015 zum Kunstareal-Fest München, dem mehrmonatigen Integrationsprojekt „Togetthere_fACTory“ 2016, den Zukunftstagen „Togetthere_Xperience“ 2017 und 2018, sowie dem „Denkraum Deutschland“ 2019 und 2020 in der Pinakothek der Moderne entwickelt Craemer für sich die Kunst als integratives, demokratisches und vermittelndes Element der Gesellschaft. In seinem 2020 erstmals erschienenen Magazin „MAG- Museum und Gesellschaftlicher Wandel“ führt er diese Vision eines niederschwelligen Zugangs zu Kunst und Kultur im Austausch mit Expert:innen und Besucher:innen gleichermaßen fort.

Miro Craemer war Teil von zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Einzel-und Gruppenausstellungen, u.a. Karachi Biennale 2017, Lahore Biennale 2018, Vienna Art Week 2017, Kunstareal-Fest München 2015,2017 und 2019, Staatliches Textil-und Industriemuseum 2017 und 2020, „Personal Structures“, Palazzo Bembo / 58. Biennale in Venedig.

Seit 2020 leitet er den Kunstraum „mim – Raum für Kultur“ im Glockenbachviertel in München mit einem Programm an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Design.